Day 10 Herbon to Santiago (Jun 26)

Last day didn’t start to well for me. I think I was really upset that my Camino was coming to the end. Yet again I was annoyed. Yet again I started walking very fast. We have missed a shortcut. I was really annoyed with myself. Too afraid to trust my own judgement, to afraid to take responsibility.

It was a long day and a lot of walking.And most of it uphill. I did not enjoy it. I didn’t want my walk to be over like this.

We have finally arrived in Santiago. Friends, whom my girls met on Lisbon to Porto leg, greeted us as we approached the city center. Apparently they have been waiting for good few hours, they knew we will arrive at some point. I’ve found this to be really touching gesture.

DSC_0732

Cathedral was covered in scaffolding so it didn’t make any impression on me at that stage. All I wanted was to have a shower. However it has been decided we will queue for our compostella first and that is exactly what we did. It was a long wait. Luckily enough we have bought some food beforehand and it saved us from starvation while queuing…

Aline, Marcie, Dawn and Megan –  I am very sorry I did not care about the compostella. Hope you forgive me. I’d rather keep walking, I’d rather stay with you guys. You made this journey an amazing one for me, I’ve never expected to receive so much while walking my Camino. I know I was truly blessed you were part of my way.

We checked in the hostel and barely managed to get ourselves back to Cathedral for the evening mass. I don’t think I’ve ever cried that much in a public place. It was like someone has opened the tap…It was a beautiful mass, real feast for my soul and heart.

Next time (for I know I will be back…) I won’t take any photos I will just look at the Botafumeiro as it swings back and forth. What an amazing view! (especially when sit down on the floor and look up…)

DSC_0799 DSC_0780 DSC_0777 DSC_0767

We went for a meal afterwards and for tapas after that (we simply loved our food so we did:) And then it was a bed time already as sadly I had my flight booked for the very next morning…

Leave a Reply

